Jacobs Library: Flint Water Crisis: Research

Research

Books & eBooks

What the Eyes Don't See by Mona Hanna-Attisha
ISBN: 9780399590832

Publication Date: 2018-06-19
Flint Fights Back by Benjamin J. Pauli
ISBN: 9780262536868

Publication Date: 2019-05-07
Environmental Racism and Classism by Anne C. Cunningham (Editor)
ISBN: 9781534500167

Publication Date: 2016-12-30
Nobody by Marc Lamont Hill; Todd Brewster (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781501124969

Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Sickening: Anti-Black Racism and Health Disparities in the United States by Anne Pollock
ISBN: 9781517911720

Publication Date: 2021-08-17

Research Articles

Behavioral Health Concerns During the Flint Water Crisis, 2016–2018
Sneed, Rodlescia S., et al. “Behavioral Health Concerns During the Flint Water Crisis, 2016–2018.” Community Mental Health Journal, vol. 56, no. 5, 2020, pp. 793–803, https://doi.org/10.1007/s10597-019-00520-7.

more... less...

Jacobs Library Resource.
Community–academic partnerships helped Flint through its water crisis
Lewis, E. Yvonne, and Richard C. Sadler. “Community–academic Partnerships Helped Flint through Its Water Crisis.” Nature (London), vol. 594, no. 7863, 2021, pp. 326–29, https://doi.org/10.1038/d41586-021-01586-8.

more... less...

Jacobs Library Resource.
Elevated Blood Lead Levels in Children Associated With the Flint Drinking Water Crisis: A Spatial Analysis of Risk and Public Health Response
Hanna-Attisha, Mona, et al. “Elevated Blood Lead Levels in Children Associated With the Flint Drinking Water Crisis: A Spatial Analysis of Risk and Public Health Response.” American Journal of Public Health (1971), vol. 106, no. 2, 2016, pp. 283–90, https://doi.org/10.2105/AJPH.2015.303003.

more... less...

Jacobs Library Resource
Flint Water Crisis: Impacts and Lessons Learned: Joint Hearing before the Subcommittee on Environment and the Economy and the Subcommittee on Health of the Committee on Energy and Commerce, House of Representatives, One Hundred Fourteenth Congress, Secon
via Hein Online
Lead Poisoning in the 21st Century: The Silent Epidemic Continues
Hanna-Attisha, Mona, et al. “Lead Poisoning in the 21st Century: The Silent Epidemic Continues.” American Journal of Public Health (1971), vol. 108, no. 11, 2018, pp. 1430–1430, https://doi.org/10.2105/AJPH.2018.304725.

more... less...

Jacobs Library Resource.
Voices from Flint: Community Perceptions of the Flint Water Crisis
Heard-Garris, Nia Jeneé, et al. “Voices from Flint: Community Perceptions of the Flint Water Crisis.” Journal of Urban Health, vol. 94, no. 6, 2017, pp. 776–79, https://doi.org/10.1007/s11524-017-0152-3.

more... less...

Jacobs Library Resource.
“It is the innocence which constitutes the crime”: Political geographies of white supremacy, the construction of white innocence, and the Flint water crisis
Inwood, Joshua F. J. “‘It Is the Innocence Which Constitutes the Crime’: Political Geographies of White Supremacy, the Construction of White Innocence, and the Flint Water Crisis.” Geography Compass, vol. 12, no. 3, 2018, p. e12361–n/a, https://doi.org/10.1111/gec3.12361.

more... less...

Jacobs Library Resource.

Lead Toxicity: Relevant Databases

CINAHL
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
ERIC Educational Resources
Delve into journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more aimed at education researchers of all kinds.
HeinOnline
Delve into legal history and government documents including law journals, Congressional records, world constitutions, historical treaties, case law, world trials, classic treatises, and U.S. Presidents. Contains topics such as animal rights, human rights, political science, history, gender studies, election law, civil rights, and foreign relations. Special collections cover religion, slavery, women, and gun regulations.
Medline
Access citations, abstracts, and library holding information for articles published in biomedical journals across the world. Covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Seek to understand both sides of an issue with pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.
PubMed
Free access to citations and abstracts from MEDLINE in biomedical and life science fields such as biology, dentistry, nursing, psychology, and more. Some access to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.

Topics & Subject Headings Related to the Flint Water Crisis

Search SOAR or other Jacobs Library Resources for the following related topics:

Activism
Art as commentary
Early childhood development
Citizen scientists
Emergency manager law
Environmental health
Government regulations
Health care access
Infrastructure
Investigative journalism
Lead and Copper Rule
Lead toxicity
Legionella
Phosphates
Shigella
Volunteerism
Water filtration
Water Resource Development Act (S.2848)
Water rights
Water supply policy
Water supply regulation

Jacobs Library Catalog - S.O.A.R.
Search for books and other materials in the IVCC library and 90+ other academic libraries.

Streaming Media Sources

Frontline: Flint’s Deadly Water
Exposing the deadly toll from the Flint water crisis. A two-year FRONTLINE investigation uncovers the roots and extent of a deadly Legionnaires' outbreak during the water crisis, and how officials failed to stop it.
Flint: The Poisoning of an American City
Flint: The Poisoning of an American City explores how more than 100,000 people in the United States have been poisoned by their own state. Interspersing interviews with residents and experts in lead and water with testimony at congressional hearings, Flint serves as a warning sign for the nation.