The books on this page are not available in Jacobs Library at IVCC, but may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. Search for any title on this page in the I-Share catalog. Instructions on how to place an interlibrary loan request are available on the Interlibrary Loan FAQ page.
| Author | Title | ISBN | Description |
| Gottlieb, Roger | Radical Philosophy | 156639046X | This anthology brings together new essays by leading figures in contemporary philosophy, scholars whose work is well known not only to the entire community of academic philosophy, but to many in the associated fields of sociology, women's studies, literary theory, and political science. Defining for the first time the boundaries and accomplishments of a body of work deeply critical of both the philosophical and the social dimensions of domination, the collection draws on diverse traditions and social movements. |
| Heldke, Lisa | Oppression, Privilege and Resistance | 9780072882438 | The companion to Astra Taylor's acclaimed documentary film, Examined Life features the full transcripts of Taylor's conversations with eight iconoclastic and influential philosophers, conducted while on the move through places that hold special resonance for them and their ideas. |
| Moser, Paul | Contemporary Approaches to Philosophy | 0023841710 | |
| Solomon, Robert | The Joy of Philosophy | 0195165403 | The Joy of Philosophy is a return to some of the perennial questions of philosophy--questions about the meaning of life; about death and tragedy; about the respective roles of rationality and passion in the good life; about love, compassion, and revenge; about honesty, deception, and betrayal;and about who we are and how we think about who we are. |
| Taylor, Astra | Examined Life | 9781595584472 | The companion to Astra Taylor's acclaimed documentary film, Examined Life features the full transcripts of Taylor's conversations with eight iconoclastic and influential philosophers, conducted while on the move through places that hold special resonance for them and their ideas. |
| Washburn, Phil | The Many Faces of Wisdom | 0130941204 | This broad and readable book makes use of 16 essays on great philosophers to explore and answer the question: "What is philosophy?" It describes each philosopher's life project, his or her motivating sight, and the various theories and concepts resulting from that central discovery. The essays focus on Confucius, Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Marcus Aurelius, St Thomas Aquinas, Descartes, Hume, Kant, Marx, Mill, Nietzsche, James, Wittgenstein, and Beauvoir. Emphasis on their different theories includes their ideas about God, knowledge, society, and other well-know issues. |
| Zack, Neomi | Race, Class, Gender, and Sexuality | 9780631208747 | "This anthology combines analyses and surveys of contemporary theorizing on social identity." "The editors redirect classic philosophical questions about personal identity to the categories of race, class, gender, and sexuality. Readings consist of scholarly, popular, autobiographical, and literary writings that engage issues in racial theory, social and political philosophy, and feminism. |
| Author | Title | ISBN | Description |
| Ansell-Pearson, Keith | How to Read Nietzsche | 9780393328219 | Approaching the writing of major intellectuals, artists, and philosophers need no longer be daunting. How to Read is a new sort of introduction--a personal master class in reading--that brings you face to face with the work of some of the most influential and challenging writers in history. |
| Byron, George Gordon | Manfred | 9781554813681 | A quintessential depiction of the Byronic hero, Byron's poetic drama Manfred centers on the interior sufferings of its psychologically tortured title character, who is haunted by the death of his forbidden lover. A radically autonomous figure, Manfred rejects help from other human beings, refuses Christian absolution, and disdains dark supernatural entities far more powerful than he is. |
| Clark, Maudemarie | Nietzsche on Truth and Philosophy | 9780521343688 | Friedrich Nietzsche haunts the modern world. His elusive writings with their characteristic combination of trenchant analysis of the modern predicament and suggestive but ambiguous proposals for dealing with it have fascinated generations of artists, scholars, critics, philosophers, and ordinary readers. |
| Foucault, Michel | The Foucault Reader | 9780394713403 | Michel Foucault's writing has shaped the teaching of half a dozen disciplines, ranging from literary criticism to the history of criminology. But none of his books offers a satisfactory introduction to the entire complex body of his work. The Foucault Reader precisely serves that purpose. It contains selections from each area of Foucault's thought, a wealth of previously unpublished writings, and an interview with Foucault during which he discusses his philosophy with unprecedented candor |
| Hollingdale, R.J. | Nietzsche: the man and his philosophy | 9780521640916 | The biography chronicles Nietzsche's intellectual evolution and discusses his friendship and breach with Wagner, his attitude toward Schopenhauer, and his indebtedness to Darwin and the Greeks. It follows the years of his maturity and his mental collapse in 1889. The final part of the book considers the development of the Nietzsche legend during his years of madness. |
| Magnus, Bernd | The Cambridge Companion to Nietzshe | 0521367670 | The opening essay of this 1996 Companion provides a chronologically organised introduction to and summary of Nietzsche's published works, while also providing an overview of their basic themes and concerns. It is followed by three essays on the appropriation and misappropriation of his writings, and a group of essays exploring the nature of Nietzsche's philosophy and its relation to the modern and post-modern world. |
| Magnus, Bernd | Nietzche's Existential Imperative | 0253340624 | |
| Nehamas, Alexander | Nietzsche, Life as Literature | 0674624262 | Alexander Nehamas provides the best possible guide for the perplexed. He reveals the single thread running through Nietzsche's views: his thinking of the world on the model of a literary text, of people as if they were literary characters, and of knowledge and science as if they were literary interpretation. |
| Nietzsche, Friedrich | Daybreak | 0521590507 | Daybreak marks the arrival of Nietzsche's "mature" philosophy and is indispensable for an understanding of his critique of morality and "revaluation of all values." |
| Nietzsche, Friedrich | The Gay Science | 0521631599 | Nietzsche wrote The Gay Science, which he later described as 'perhaps my most personal book', when he was at the height of his intellectual powers, and the reader will find in it an extensive and sophisticated treatment of the philosophical themes and views which were most central to Nietzsche's own thought and which have been most influential on later thinkers. |
| Reginster, Bernard | The Affirmation of Life | 0674021991 | Reginster argues that overcoming nihilism was a central objective for Nietzsche & that this concern systematically animates all of his main ideas, so offering an original interpretation of the will to power, which explains how Nietzsche uses this doctrine to mount a critique of the dominant Christian values. |
| Solomon, Robert | Living with Nietzsche | 0195160142 | In Living with Nietzsche, Solomon suggests that we read Nietzsche from a very different point of view, as a provocative writer who means to transform the way we view our lives. This means taking Nietzsche personally. |
| Solomon, Robert | What Nietzsche Really Said | 0805210946 | What Nietzsche Really Said gives us a lucid overview -- both informative and entertaining -- of perhaps the most widely read and least understood philosopher in history. |
| Author | Title | ISBN | Description |
| Beauvoir, Simone de | The Ethics of Ambiguity | 1504054229 | In this classic introduction to existentialist thought, French philosopher Simone de Beauvoir's The Ethics of Ambiguity simultaneously pays homage to and grapples with her French contemporaries, philosophers Jean-Paul Sartre and Maurice Merleau-Ponty, by arguing that the freedoms in existentialism carry with them certain ethical responsibilities. |
| Camus, Albert | The Stranger | 0394700023 | Born in 1913 in Algeria, Albert Camus was a French novelist, dramatist, and essayist. He was deeply affected by the plight of the French during the Nazi occupation of World War II, who were subject to the military's arbitrary whims. He explored the existential human condition in such works as L'Etranger (The Outsider, 1942) and Le Mythe de Sisyphe (The Myth of Sisyphus, 1942), which propagated the philosophical notion of the "absurd" that was being given dramatic expression by other Theatre of the Absurd dramatists of the 1950s and 1960s. |
| Friedman, Maurice | The Worlds of Existentialism | 1573922765 | Maurice Friedman's masterly anthology still stands apart decades after its original publication. It has become established as a classic - the most comprehensive collection of existentialist writing ever assembled. |
| Guignon, Charles | Existetialism | 0872205959 | "An invaluable source for undergraduate courses in continental philosophy." |
| Hannay, Alastair | The Cambridge Companion to Kierkegaard | 0521471516 | Few thinkers have been so consistently misunderstood as Soren Kierkegaard (1813-1855). Amongst the many myths that have attached themselves to his work is the belief that Kierkegaard was an irrationalist who denied the value of clear and honest thinking. |
| Howells, Christina | The Cambridge Companion to Sartre | 0521381142 | This is one of the most comprehensive and up-to-date surveys of the philosophy of Sartre, by some of the foremost interpreters in the United States and Europe. |
| Kaufmann, Walter | From Shakespeare to Existentialism | 0836958055 | |
| MacDonald, Paul | The Existentialist Reader | 0415936632 | The Existentialist Reader is a comprehensive anthology of classic philosophical writings from eight key existentialist thinkers: Sartre, Camus, Heidegger, de Beauvoir, Jaspers, Marcel, Merleau-Ponty, and Ortega y Gasset. These substantial and carefully selected readings consider the distinctive concerns of existentialism: absurdity, anxiety, alienation and death. |
| Mullen, John Douglas | Kierkegaard's Philosophy | 081919803X | This clear and enlightening study provides a fascinating analysis of Kierkegaard's thinking and its practical applications. |
| Ortega y Gasset, José | Toward a Philosophy of History | 0252070453 | Bears the mark of Ortega's fine intelligence and his abiding faith in the redemptive power of engaged living and original thinking |
| Sartre, Jean-Paul | Dirty Hands | 0679725164 | An existential portrayal of Hell in Sartre's best-known play, as well as three other brilliant, thought-provoking works: the reworking of the Electra-Orestes story, the conflict of a young intellectual torn between theory and conflict, and an arresting attack on American racism. |
| Solomon, Robert | Existentialism | 0394317041 | |
| Solomon, Robert | From Rationalism to Existentialism | 074251241X | In this enduring text, renowned philosopher Robert C. Solomon provides students with a detailed introduction to modern existentialism. He reveals how this philosophy not only connects with, but derives from, the thought of traditional philosophers through the works of Nietzsche, Kierkegaard, Husserl, Heidegger, Sartre, and Merleau-Ponty. |
| Solomon, Robert | Phenomenology and Existentialism | 0742512401 | This anthology of classic essays focuses on the philosophy of Edmund Husserl and the philosophical movement to which his writings gave impetus: phenomenology. Sixty contributions from a wide variety of scholars provide an introduction to phenomenology and existentialist phenomenology. |
| Westphal, Merold | Becoming a Self | 1557530890 | Becoming a Self provides a reader's guide to the book often taken to be Soren Kierkegaard's most important contribution to philosophy and theology. Merold Westphal includes the portion of Kierkegaard's text that develops his infamous thesis that "truth is subjectivity" and offers a dose reading of the entire text of Postscript. |
| Author | Title | ISBN | Description |
| Bernstein, Eduard | Evolutionary Socialism | ||
| Carver, Terrell | The Cambridge Companion to Marx | 0521366259 | In the wake of the collapse of Marxism-Leninism in Eastern Europe the question arises as to how important Marx's work is now. This volume places Marx's writings in their historical context and separates what he actually said from what others interpreted him as saying. |
| Carver, Terrell | Marx | 1509518177 | Taking Marx's work in his pamphleteering, journalism, speeches, correspondence and published books as central to a renewed understanding of the man and his politics, this book brings both his life experience and our contemporary political engagements vividly to life. |
| Carver, Terrell | Marx's Social Theory | 0192191705 : | Marx's 'production theory' of society and social change is unique in social science and functions as a powerful hypothesis. It is not a casual law. The author assesses the central difficulties encountered by the theory, and shows that it sprang from a desire not simply to interpret the world, but to change it. |
| Cohen, G.A. | If You're an Egalitarian, How Come You're So Rich? | 0674002180 | This book presents G. A. Cohen's Gifford Lectures, delivered at the University of Edinburgh in 1996. Focusing on Marxism and Rawlsian liberalism, Cohen draws a connection between these thought systems and the choices that shape a person's life. |
| Cohen, G.A. | Karl Marx's Theory of History | 0199242062 | First published in 1978, this book rapidly established itself as a classic of modern Marxism. Cohen's masterful application of advanced philosophical techniques in an uncompromising defence of historical materialism commanded widespread admiration. |
| Fried, Albert | Socialist Thought | 0231082649 | In Socialist Thought Fried and Sanders set socialism within its historical context from pre-revolutionary France to the present by using major turning points such as 1789, when the French Revolution launched socialism, to establish a chronological framework. |
| Gottlieb, Roger | An Anthology of Western Marxism | 0195055683 | This unique anthology brings together readings from the works of the most significant post-Leninist Marxist thinkers. |
| Harrington, Michael | The Other America | ||
| Kautsky, Karl | Terrorism and Communism | 0883550393 | |
| Kivel, Paul | You Call This a Democracy? | 1891843265 | A penetrating look at the U.S. ruling class - a rich and powerful portion of the population who own tremendous amounts of wealth and who benefit from the way that decisions get made in this country. |
| Kropotkin, Piotr | The Conquest of Bread | 0713902981 | |
| Lenin, V.I. | Imperialism, the Highest Stage of Capitalism | ||
| Lukács, Gyõrgy | History adn Class Consciouslness | 085036129X | George Steiner calls Lukacs "the one major critical talent to have emerged from the gray servitude of the Marxist world." This well-known writer on European literature combines a Marxist-Hegelian concern for the historical process with great artistic sensitivity. |
| MacPherson, C.B. | Democratic Theory | 0198271891 | |
| Marx, Karl | Economic and Philosophic Manuscripts | ||
| Nyerere, Julius | Ujamaa | 019644067X | |
| Owen, Robert | Observations on the Effect of the Manufacturing System | ||
| Orwell, George | Down and Out in Paris and London | 0140002979 | Renowned urban artist Shepard Fairey's new look for Orwell's classic account of life on the streets To be poor and destitute in 1920s Paris and London was to experience life at its lowest ebb. |
| Orwell, George | The Road to Wigan Pier | 0140017003 | The Road to Wigan Pier is Orwell's sociological investigations of the bleak living conditions amongst the working class of industrial England before World War II. |
| Roemer, John | Free to Lose | 0674318757 | |
| Roemer, John | A General Theory of Exploitation and Class | 0674344405 | In this original and powerful work, John Roemer proposes a general theory of exploitation that provides a game-theoretic framework for expressing any conception of exploitation--feudal, capitalist, or socialist--in a standardized and explicit way, thus permitting a clear comparison of different ethical conceptions. |
| Rousseau, Jean-Jacques | Discourse on the Origin of Inequality | 0872201503 | Donald Cress's highly regarded translation, based on the critical Pléiade edition of 1964, is here issued with a lively introduction by James Miller, who brings into sharp focus the cultural and intellectual milieu in which Rousseau operated. |
| Schmitt, Richard | Introduction to Marx and Engels | 0813332826 | |
| Shulman, Beth | The Betrayal of Work | 1556847334 | |
| Waltman, Jerold | The Case for the Living Wage | 0875863027 | This well-documented brief demonstrates that both poverty and excessive economic inequality are inimical to the maintenance of a healthy republic, and notes that providing a living wage is not only fair, but is superior to any other public policy such as cash transfers (or the Earned Income Tax Credit) in the effort to fight poverty. |
| Wolff, Richard | Democracy at Work: a cure for capitalism | 1608462471 | Wolff shows why and how to make democratic workplaces real. He speaks to those who realize that capitalism economics and politics as usual have become intolerable and who seek a concrete action program. |
| Wood, Allen | Karl Marx | 0415316979 | This is one of the most respected books on Marx's philosophical thought. Wood explains Marx's views from a philosophical standpoint and defends him against common misunderstandings and criticisms. |
| Žižek, Slavoj. | Trouble in Paradise | 1612194443 | In Trouble in Paradise, Slavoj Zizek, one of our most famous, most combative philosophers, explains how we can find a way out of the crisis of capitalism. |
| Author | Title | ISBN | Description |
| Bartky, Sandra Lee | Femininity and Domination | 0415901855 | This work draws on the experiences of daily life to analyze the guises in which intimations of inferiority are conveyed to women in society. The author argues that women are recruited to an idealized, yet finally disempowering, femininity in a patriarchal society. |
| Beauvoir, Simone de | Brigitte Bardot and the Lolita Syndrome | 0405039123 | |
| Daly, Mary | Gyn/Ecology | 0807014133 | Includes sections on Indian suttee, Chinese footbinding, African genital mutilation, and European witchburning. |
| Faludi, Susan | Backlash | 0307345424 | From the author of In the Darkroom, a feminist classic and skillful examination of the attack on women's rights. |
| Firestone, Shulamith | The Dialectic of Sex | ||
| Fraser, Nancy | Unruly Practices | 0816617775 | Fraser (philosophy and literature, Northwestern U.) deals with varied forms of dominance and subordination in modern, industrial, and late- capitalist societies. |
| French, Marilyn | The War Against Women | 034538248X | Bestselling author and feminist scholar Marilyn French has written a shocking and fascinating analysis of the history of women's political, cultural, physical, and economic repression that is as controversial as it is utterly convincing. |
| Frye, Marilyn | The Politics of Reality | 089594099X | Politics of Reality includes essays that examine sexism, the exploitation of women, the gay rights movement and other topics from a feminist perspective. |
| Gilligan, Carol | In a Different Voice | 0674445449 | This is the little book that started a revolution, making women's voices heard, in their own right and with their own integrity, for virtually the first time in social scientific theorizing about women. |
| Gilman, Charlotte Perkins | Herland | 140430620X | Delightfully humorous account of a feminist utopia in which 3 male explorers stumble upon an all-female society. An early 20th-century writer's once-unconventional views on male-female behavior, motherhood, individuality, other topics. |
| Gilman, Charlotte Perkins | Women and Economics | 0879758848 | Charlotte Perkins Gilman (1860-1935) was an ardent feminist and outspoken champion of women's rights. In this profoundly insightful and cogently argued work, Gilman describes how the social and sexual disparities between men and women, long thought to be preordained and unchanging, are actually the result of economics. |
| Hochschild, Arlie | The Second Shift | 0380711575 | In this landmark study, sociologist Arlie Hochschild takes us into the homes of two-career parents to observe what really goes on at the end of the work day. Overwhelmingly, she discovers, it's the working mother who takes on the second shift. |
| Hooks, Bell | Ain't I a Woman | 0896081281 | Discusses the most important social, cultural, and political developments in postwar America and isolates the beginnings of the civil rights and peace movements. |
| Irigaray, Luce | This Sex Which Is Not One | 0801415462 | Luce Irigaray elaborates on some of the major themes of Speculum of the Other Woman , her landmark work on the status of woman in Western philosophical discourse and in psychoanalytic theory, In eleven acute and widely ranging essays, Irigaray reconsiders the question of female sexuality in a variety of contexts that are relevant to current discussion of feminist theory and practice. |
| May, Larry | Rethinking Masculinity | 0847682560 | |
| Meyers, Diana | Gender in the Mirror | 0195140400 | How do patriarchal representations of gender impact on women's lives? What about their effects on men's attitudes toward women? How can the deleterious effects of this hostile cultural environment be overcome? These are the principal questions Gender in the Mirror poses |
| Overall, Christine | Ethics and Human Reproduction | 0044970099 | Discusses sex preselection, abortion, childbirth, surrogate mothers, infertility, artificial reproduction, and reproductive rights. |
| Ruether, Rosemary Radford | Religion and Sexism | 0470989688 | |
| Song, Sarah | Justice, Gender, and the Politics of Multiculturalsm | 052169759X | Justice, Gender and the Politics of Multiculturalism explores the tensions that arise when culturally diverse democratic states pursue both justice for religious and cultural minorities and justice for women. |
| Stoltenberg, John | Refusing to Be a Man | 1841420417 | Refusing to be a Man has been acclaimed as a classic and widely cited in gender studies literature. In 13 eloquent essays, Stoltenberg articulates the first fully argued liberation theory for men that will also liberate women. |
| Taylor, Harriet | The Enfranchisement of Women | 0860684458 | |
| Valenti, Jessica | He's a Stud, She's a Slut... | 1580052452 | With sass, humor, and in-your-face facts, this book informs and equips women with the tools they need to combat sexist comments, topple ridiculous stereotypes, and end the promotion of insidious double standards. |
| Warnke, Georgia | Debating Sex and Gender | 0195308859 | The fifth volume in the Fundamentals of Philosophy Series, Debating Sex and Gender by Georgia Warnke is a concise yet in-depth introduction to contemporary feminist thought on sex and gender. |
| Wolf, Naomi | Fire with Fire | 0449909514 | With all the insight and passion she brought to her controversial bestseller The Beauty Myth, Naomi Wolf proposes a bold, revitalized brand of feminimism--one that exhorts women to move from victim feminism to power feminism |
| Woolf, Virginia | A Room of One's Own | 0156030411 | In A Room of One's Own, Virginia Woolf imagines that Shakespeare had a sister: a sister equal to Shakespeare in talent, equal in genius, but whose legacy is radically different |
| Author | Title | ISBN | Description |
| Abelove, Henry | The Lesbian and Gay Studies Reader | 0415905184 | The lesbian and gay studies reader is the biggest and most comprehensive multi-disciplinary anthology of critical work in lesbian/gay studies. Comprising scholarship, criticism, commentary, and political analysis, lesbian/gay studies is one of the fastest growing fields in contemporary thought. |
| Boswell, John | Christianity, Social Tolerance, and Homosexuality | 0226067114 | John Boswell's National Book Award-winning study of the history of attitudes toward homosexuality in the early Christian West was a groundbreaking work that challenged preconceptions about the Church's past relationship to its gay members... |
| Boswell, John | Same-Sex Unions in Premodern Europe | 0679432280 | The author traces same-sex unions from Platonic Greece, to Rome, to Christianized Europe, including Catholic and Orthodox liturgies to bless same-sex unions. |
| Calhoun, Cheshire | Feminism, the Family, and the Politics of the Closet | 0199257663 | Feminism, the Family, and the Politics of the Closet is about placing sexual orientation politics within feminist theorizing. |
| Califia, Pat | Public Sex | 1573440965 | 'Always intelligent but never academic, Califia takes bold unpopular stances on censorship and sexual freedom... No aspect of sex is too forbidden or too undignified to merit Califia's critical attention...' |
| Califia, Pat | Sex Changes | 1573441805 | Hailed a 'revolutionary antidote to America's growing sexual conservatism', Califia is the most outspoken and intelligent commentator on sexual politics writing today. |
| Califia, Pat | Speaking Sex to Power | 1573441325 | In his first non-fiction book since coming out as a female-to-male transsexual, this completely up-to-date collection of essays charts Califia's provocative and often controversial take on sex, gender and politics |
| Corvino, John | Same Sex | 0847684830 | 'Same Sex' presents a comprehensive anthology on homosexuality, exploring historical conceptions of homosexuality, homosexual identity, and a variety of public policy issues. |
| Duberman, Martin | Hidden From History | 0452010675 | This richly revealing anthology brings together for the first time the vital new scholarly studies now lifting the veil from the gay and lesbian past. |
| Eribon, Didier | Insult and the Making of the Gay Self | 0822332868 | Didier Eribon reflects on 'the gay question' & the creation of gay identities. In an age when it is claimed that being gay has been reduced to 'a lifestyle' Eribon argues that gay male politics, social life & culture should properly be seen as a transformative response to an oppressive social order. |
| Fausto-Sterling, Anne | Sexing the Body | 0465077137 | Discusses the causes and determining factors of gender behavior differences and sexual identity, particularly biology and societal expectations, and argues that differences between male and female are not always distinct. |
| Feinberg, Leslie | Transgender Liberation | 0895671050 | A Marxist view of when and why transgender oppression arose |
| Firestein, Beth | Bisexuality | 0803972733 | This volume fills a gap in the literature on the subject of bisexuality and provides an insight into and clarification of this emerging paradigm shift in sexual orientation studies. |
| Fuss, Diana | Inside/Out | 0415902363 | Challenges the heterocentric foundations of critical scholarship and theories of sexual difference and investigates the complex relations between desires and identifications, libidinal economies and social configurations, political representations and sexual symbolizations. |
| Halperin, David | How to Do the History of Homosexuality | 0226314472 | In this long-awaited book, David M. Halperin revisits and refines the argument he put forward in his classic One Hundred Years of Homosexuality : that hetero- and homosexuality are not biologically constituted but are, instead, historically and culturally produced. |
| Halperin, David | One Hundred Years of Homosexuality | 0415900964 | Examining love, sex and gender in the ancient Greek world, the author documents the existence in ancient Greece of a radically unfamiliar set of attitudes and behaviours, institutions and social practices. |
| Halperin, David | Saint Foucault | 0195111273 | David M. Halperin's Saint Foucault is an uncompromising and impassioned defense of the late French philosopher and historian as a galvanizing thinker whose career as a theorist and activist will continue to serve as a model for other gay intellectuals, activists, and scholars. |
| Hoagland, Sarah Lucia | Lesbian Ethics | 0934903034 | Challenging control in lesbian relationships, this book develops an ethics relevent to lesbians under oppression. |
| Jagose, Annamarie | Queer Theory | 0814742335 | Jagose provides a clear and concise explanation of queer theory, tracing it as part of an intriguing history of same-sex love over the last century, from mid-century homophile movements to gay liberation, the women's movement and lesbian feminism, to the re-appropriation of the term "queer". |
| Mohr, Richard | Gay Ideas | 0807079200 | One of the most provocative thinkers in the gay community has turned his attention to the urgent moral dilemmas facing gays in America today. |
| Mohr, Richard | Gays/Justice | 0231067348 | |
| Mohr, Richard | A More Perfect Union | 0807079324 | A More Perfect Union is the first book to offer a concise moral case for gay people's equal citizenship. Appealing to widely held American beliefs, Mohr grounds his argument for gay justice firmly in our most valued traditions of equality and freedom. |
| Murphy, Timothy | Gay Ethics | 1560230568 | Gay Ethics is an anthology that addresses ethical questions involving key moral issues of today--sexual morality, outing, gay and lesbian marriages, military service, anti-discrimination laws, affirmative action policies, the moral significance of sexual orientation research, and the legacy of homophobia in health care. |
| myers, David | What God Has Joined Together? | 0060834544 | An intriguing Christian argument for why same-sex marriage strengthens the institution of marriage. |
| Nussbaum, Martha | From Disgust to Humanity | 0195305310 | In this book the author aims her intellectual firepower at a key source of opposition to gay equality: the politics of disgust. She argues that disgust has been among the fundamental motivations of those who are fighting for a variety of legal restrictions affecting lesbian and gay citizens. |
| Ruse, Michael | Homosexuality | 063115275X | |
| Sedgwick, Eve | Epistemology of the Closet | 0520254066 | Working from classic texts of European and American writers - including Melville, James, Nietzsche, Proust, and Wilde - Sedgwick analyzes a turn-of-the-century historical moment in which sexual orientation became as important a demarcation of personhood as gender had been for centuries. |
| Shrage, Laurie | "You've Changed" | 0195385705 | "You've Changed" examines the philosophical questions raised by the phenomenon of sex reassignment, and brings together the essays of scholars known for their work in gender, sexuality, queer, and disability studies, feminist epistemology and science studies, and philosophical accounts of personal identity. |
| Wilchins, Riki | Queer Theory | 1555837980 | Nationally known gender activist Riki Wilchins combines straightforward prose with concrete examples from LGBT and feminist politics to guide the reader through the ideas that have forever altered our understanding of bodies, sex and desire. |
| Wittig, Monique | The Straight Mind and Other Essays | 0807079162 | These political, philosophical, and literary essays mark the first collection of theoretical writing from the acclaimed novelist and French feminist writer Monique Wittig. |
| Author | Title | ISBN | Description |
| Alcoff, Linda | Identities | 0631217223 | This anthology provides the definitive theoretical sources ofcontemporary thinking about identity, including explorations ofrace, class, gender, and nationality. |
| Alcoff, Linda | Identity Politics Reconsidered | 1403964467 | Based on the ongoing work of the agenda-setting Future of Minority Studies national research project, Identity Politics Reconsidered reconceptualizes the scholarly and political significance of social identity. |
| Alcoff, Linda | Visible Identities | 0195137345 | In the heated debates over identity politics, few theorists have looked carefully at the conceptualizations of identity assumed by all sides. Visible Identities fills this gap. |
| Anzaldúa, Gloria | Boderlands | 1879960745 | Rooted in Gloria Anzaldúa's experience as a Chicana, a lesbian, an activist, and a writer, the groundbreaking essays and poems in this volume profoundly challenged how we think about identity. |
| Boxill, Bernard | Blacks and Social Justice | 0847677109 | "In this acclaimed study, Bernard Boxill examines the works of modern theorists...and classicial thinkers...to delineate the principle arguments for and against the major racial issues of our time. |
| Churchill, Ward | A Little Matter of Genocide | 0872863239 | Here, [Churchill] explores the history of holocaust and denial in this hemisphere, beginning with the arrival of Columbus and continuing on into the present. |
| Collins, Patricia Hill | Black Feminist Thought | 0415905974 | In Black Feminist Thought,Patricia Hill Collins explores the words and ideas of Black feminist intellectuals as well as those African-American women outside academe. |
| Cone, James | A Black Theology of Liberation | 1570758956 | |
| Cone, James | God of the Oppressed | 1570751587 | In his reflections on God, Jesus, suffering, and liberation, James H. Cone relates the gospel message to the experience of the black community. But a wider theme of the book is the role that social and historical context plays in framing the questions we address to God as well as the mode of the answers provided. |
| Dussel, Enrique | The Invention of the Americas | 082640796X | |
| Fanon, Frantz | Black Skin, White Masks | 0802150845 | A major influence on civil rights, anti-colonial, and black consciousness movements around the world, Black Skin, White Masks is the unsurpassed study of the black psyche in a white world. |
| Fanon, Frantz | The Wretched of the Earth | 0394173279 | |
| Frankenberg, Ruth | White Women, Race Matters: a Social Construction of Whiteness | 0816622574 | Beginning with the premise that race shapes white women's lives, just as much as gender shapes men's lives or sexuality shapes heterosexual lives, the author examines, through 30 life-history interviews, just how this "whiteness" is constructed. |
| Gordon, Lewis | Bad Faith and Antiblack Racism | 0391038680 | |
| Gutmann, Amy and Taylor, Charles | Multiculturalism | 0691037795 | Multiculturalism and "The Politics of Recognition," this paperback brings together an even wider range of leading philosophers and social scientists to probe the political controversy surrounding multiculturalism. |
| Hacker, Andrew | Two Nations | 0743238249 | In his much-lauded classic, newly updated to reflect the changing realities of race in our nation, Andrew Hacker explains the origins and meaning of racism and clarifies the conflicting theories of equality and inferiority. |
| Hooks, Bell | Ain't I a Woman | 089608129X | Ain't I a Woman examines the impact of sexism on black women during slavery, the historic devaluation of black womanhood, black male sexism, racism within the recent women's movement, and black women's involvement with feminism. |
| Horsman, Reginald | Race and Manifest Destiny | 0674745728 | It is undoubtedly the most comprehensive account to date of antebellum racial though in all of its main aspects |
| Ingram, David | Rights, Democracy, and Fulfillment in the Era of Identity Politics | 0742533476 | Ingram both develops a theory of rights and applies it to a range of concrete and timely issues, such as the persistence of racism in contemporary American society... |
| Jones, William | Is God a White Racist? | 0807010332 | Is God a White Racist? is a landmark critique of the black church's treatment of evil and the nature of suffering. |
| Lott, Tommy | The Idea of Race | 0872204588 | [T]his anthology offers pre-twentieth century theories about the concept of race, classic twentieth century sources reiterating and contesting ideas of race as scientific, and several philosophically relevant essays that discuss the issues presented. |
| Lugones, Maria | Pilgrimages | 0742514587 | A deeply original essayist, Lugones writes from her own perspective as an inhabitant of a number of different "worlds." |
| Mills, Charles | Blackness Visible | 080143467X | Charles W. Mills makes visible in the world of mainstream philosophy some of the crucial issues of the black experience. |
| Mills, Charles | The Racial Contract | 0801434548 | Argues that racially structured discrimination is the norm by using social contract theory. |
| Omi, Michael | Racial Formation in the United States | 0415520312 | Omi and Winant provide an account of how concepts of race are created and transformed, how they become the focus of political conflict, and how they come to shape and permeate both identities and institutions. |
| Shelby, Tommie | We Who Are Dark | 0674019369 | [T]oday, many believe that black solidarity is unnecessary, irrational, rooted in the illusion of 'racial' difference, at odds with the goal of integration, and incompatible with liberal ideals and American democracy. A response to such critics, We Who Are Dark provides the first extended philosophical defence of black political solidarity. |
| Stannard, David | American Holocaust | 9780195085570 | Stannard reveals that wherever Europeans or white Americans went, the native people were caught between imported plagues and barbarous atrocities, typically resulting in the annihilation of 95 percent of their populations. What kind of people, he asks, do such horrendous things to others? His highly provocative answer: Christians. |
| Woodson, Carter | The Mis-Education of the Negro | 1604592265 | Carter G. Woodson shows us the weakness of Euro-centric based curriculums that fail to include African American history and culture. This system mis-educates the African American student, failing to prepare them for success and to give them an adequate sense of who they are within the system that they must live. |
| Yancy, George | Black Bodies, White Gazes | 0742552977 | George Yancy examines themes such as double consciousness, invisibility, and corporeal malediction that capture the lived reality of Black bodies under tremendous existential duress. |
| Zack, Naomi | Thinking About Race | 0534534422 | THINKING ABOUT RACE offers a concise, provocative introduction to the often overlooked, yet ever-salient body of philosophical thought regarding the nature and impact of race on our lives. |