Nursing & Allied Health Resources

Second Edition Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a concise, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the fundamentals of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information. The third edition is updated to deliver the most current information on research methods, database upgrades, and new resources. The reference serves as a succinct companion for students in EBP courses and provides practicing nurses with a resource for developing EBP on their units. It equips bedside nurses with fundamental concepts and explains basic research terms and how to conduct literature searches to "find the evidence." The third edition continues to deliver the most practical information on EBP, including how to get the best evidence quickly, using various databases, and coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and abundant examples demonstrate concepts. This classroom-tested book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question," which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Third Edition: Updated with current information on research methods and new resources"Finding the Evidence" chapter completely updated with the latest databases and search enginesIncludes two new chapters, "The Iowa Model of Evidence-Based Practice to Promote Quality Care" and "Evidence-Based Practice in the Nurse Residency Program"Aligns with projects that are required by many undergraduate programs and residency/internship programs for new nursesIncorporates the Iowa Model of EBP into developing the project format Key Features: Provides step-by-step methods to implement evidence-based practiceIncludes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practiceIncludes extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care, with examples and cases to show readers practical application of contentReviews basic terms and principlesPresents quantitative and qualitative research approachesHas been classroom tested and used in both live and online course formats

Designated a Doody's Core Title This is a pithy, pocket-sized resource for students and practicing nurses alike that delivers the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and basic nursing research concepts in an easy-to-read, quick-access format. It demystifies the research process with straightforward information presented in concise sentences and bullet points. The book focuses on providing readers with the most practical information on EBP--including how to get the best evidence quickly using various databases and includes coverage of both quantitative and qualitative methods. At-a-glance charts categorize research and simple examples demonstrate concepts. The second edition has been updated to reflect rapidly changing trends and stateof-the-art information in EBP, including such new research methods as narrative inquiry and storytelling. Using proven, class-tested content for both traditional and online courses, this updated edition includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status, and presents examples of how health care providers are integrating EBP into their practice. The text differentiates between EBP and research, often a difficult distinction for students to grasp. Extensive coverage of how EBP can be used to improve patient care includes many practical examples. Every chapter includes the popular "Fast Facts in a Nutshell" feature, highlighting must-know information. The book also provides background information on defining the "compelling question" which is essential to finding the appropriate evidence-based material. New to the Second Edition: Reflects new trends, research methods, and state-of-the-art EBP information Includes guidance on how EBP is used to obtain and retain Magnet status Provides examples of how health care providers and hospitals are integrating EBP into their practice Differentiates between EBP and research Discusses how EBP can be used to improve patient care

Evidence-Based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Healthcare examines the Joanna Briggs Institute model for evidence-based practice which recognises research, theory and practice as sources of evidence and takes a practical approach to developing, implementing and evaluating practice, based on 'evidence' in its broadest sense. Evidence-based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Healthcare addresses the nature of evidence in clinical practice, generating and synthesising evidence, and transferring and utilising evidence in clinical practice. It describes the development of practice information sheets and clinical guidelines and provides practical guidance on the implementation of evidence-based practice and its evaluation using clinical audit.