Nursing & Allied Health Resources

The American Association for the History of Nursing (AAHN) is a professional organization open to everyone interested in the history of nursing. The purpose of the Association shall be to foster the importance of history as relevant to understanding the past, defining the present, and influencing the future of nursing.

The nursing literature is rich with information on the history of Black nurses and their struggle for equality in the profession. This guide created by the Rowan University Library focuses on highlighting Black nurses across American history.

This site provides information concerning its own funding initiatives, including diversity programs and resources, links to nursing-related Web sites, and publications from national conferences.

This website, designed by and for healthcare professionals, has several useful tools and tutorials. On this site you can listen to lung and heart sounds, practice taking blood pressure measurements (using an interactive tool), and review reading EKG/ECG tracings.

This is an important site to investigate if you're are interested in quality improvement and tracking--a chief component of evidence-based practice. Published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, it contains articles and research summaries.

The CDC monitors all aspects of public health and works to prevent and control infectious and chronic diseases, injuries, workplace hazards, disabilities and environmental health threats.

From the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade.

General health education, consumer health, and patient education resources. Includes Interactive tutorials, Anatomy videos, Surgery videos, and more. To re-use these materials, see the Copyright Information: https://medlineplus.gov/about/using/usingcontent/

Merck Manual for the Professional-The best first place to go for medical information

Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.

Information on complementary and alternative medicine, including health, research, training, clinical trials and more.

Publications and fact sheets, news items, grant opportunities, and more are available at this searchable site.

Database designed to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. User can easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government.

View data & statistics, diseases & conditions, and resource guides on the research portion of the Illinois Department of Public Health's website.

Presents statistics and reports on diseases and conditions; injuries; births and deaths; insurance; medical facilities; and more.

The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically.

The NCMHD promotes minority health makes the effort to reduce and ultimately eliminate health disparities.

Learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more.

Drugs@FDA allows you to search for official information about FDA approved innovator and generic drugs and therapeutic biological products.

Drugs.com provides accurate and independent information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines and natural products. This material is provided for educational purposes only and is not intended for medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.