Jacobs Library: EDC2000-Urban-Bollis-Educational Psychology: Find

Education Resources

ERIC Educational Resources
Delve into journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, policy papers and more aimed at education researchers of all kinds.
Professional Development Collection
Delve into educator resources. Especially useful for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
View high school magazines, biographies, reference books, and primary sources. Ideal for high school students and education majors.
Primary Search
Browse popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection. Designed for elementary school libraries.
Military & Government Collection
Because schools are often government institutions there may be relevant information to discover in this database.

Consumer Health Complete
Browse an A-Z listing of health problems and procedures or use the search function to investigate your health question.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Examine consumer health magazines, reference books, and current health pamphlets to find information on fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health, and more.
Science Online
Stay up to date with current science news by reading this peer-reviewed science journal or search archives going back to 1880.

Access World News
Find primary source content from national, international, and local news providers.
Newspaper Source
Access national, international, and regional newspapers. Retrieve television and radio transcripts from major networks.

Academic Search Complete
Begin your research with this enormous collection of journals covering all academic subjects.
ProQuest Research Library
Search a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject areas.
Jacobs Library Catalog - S.O.A.R.
Search for books and other materials in the IVCC library and 90+ other academic libraries.
Ebook Central
Access authoritative teaching, learning, and research content on a variety of subjects in our largest eBook collection. Key and emerging topics include accounting, computers, career development, crime & criminology, emergency medicine, human resources, industrial management, nursing & allied health, project management, U.S. history, and vocational education & guidance. Titles can also be accessed through the Jacobs Library online catalog.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Seek to understand both sides of an issue with pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.

Books At IVCC

Jacobs Library, and many academic libraries (college and university libraries), use the Library of Congress classification system for the physical collections. The education books are found with call numbers beginning with L, LA, LB, or LC.

Education Web Sites

Evaluate Webpages

In order to determine information on the web is credible and usable for course work, take time to evaluate the who, what, and when. Use the information on the Who, What, and When tabs to help determine if a web source is credible and usable for your research.

Website evaluation PowerPoint

Is there a named author?
Is there information about their background?
Is the author qualified to write abut the subject?
Does the author cite or list other sources on the information?

What organization or group is responsible for the web site?
Is there information about the submission process for the content on the web site?
Can anyone publish on the web site?
What audience is the web site targeting?
Is the organization of the web site logical and credible?

Is recent information on the subject required?
Is it clear when the web site was last updated? If so, how recently?
Are the facts consistent with other recent resourcs?

The checklist below provides a structured method to test the credibility of any website. Use this when evaluating the credibility of web resources and determining whether or not to use the resources in an assignment. If you need additional tips, check out the Digging Deeper resource.

Streaming Videos

Education in Video
Access full length online videos on education topics. You can also create clips to use in a presentation.
All Video Databases
Explore the various video databases that are available through Jacobs Library.

Library Image Resources

ImageQuest
Retrieve millions of images from the world's best image collections. All images are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use, come with complete metadata including the source, the copyright holder, caption, and keyword, and can be downloaded, printed, saved or emailed.

Britannica Online
Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica and the Merriam-Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus. Results feature short and book-length articles from the Encyclopaedia as well as images and videos.

Oxford Art Online
Find images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures as well as articles that span ancient to contemporary art and architecture, all within Oxford’s art reference works including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.

Saskia Digital Art Images
This collection includes over 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture.

Copyright

Check the guide linked below to ensure you are making the best decisions when you reuse or modify someone else's content.