Jacobs Library: OER (Open Education Resources): Finding & Adopting OER

Finding & Adopting OER at IVCC Worksheet

Finding and Adopting OER at IVCC Worksheet
Use the Finding and Adopting OER at IVCC Worksheet to help you get started locating affordable course materials for your students.

Getting Started with OER: Online Resources

Open Illinois: OER Commons
An Initiative of the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois
OER Finding and Adopting Guide for Instructors: Worksheet
A PDF worksheet from the Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois (CARLI).
OER Starter Kit
Created by Iowa State University Librarian, Abbey Elder, the starter kit provides instructors with an introduction to the use and creation of open educational resources (OER). The text is broken into five sections: Getting Started, Copyright, Finding OER, Teaching with OER, and Creating OER. Although some chapters contain more advanced content, the starter kit is primarily intended for users who are entirely new to Open Education.
SPARC: Open Education
This is a brief OER overview from Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC). Very succinct introduction.
OpenStax: Introduction to Open Educational Resources
A tutorial on OERs in nine lessons.
Illinois Higher Education Data
State and National resources on student debt, textbooks cost, budgets, and more.
CCCOER
Webinars from the Community College Consortium for OER

Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from many different sources such as Open Textbook Library, OpenStax, and BC Campus. The content searched includes open eBooks, media and other open materials.

BC Campus - Open Textbooks
Searchable and browsable collection of open textbooks.
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Metafinder created by George Mason University to search 21 repositories.
MERLOT
Curated, searchable collection of OERs, including textbooks. It is a program that began at California State University. CSU oversees this program along with other institutions of higher education.
Milne Open Textbooks
Previously named Open SUNY, Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.
OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) "is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records." Developed by SUNY Geneseo Milne Library.
OER Commons - Open Textbooks
Searchable collection of OERs in a variety of subject areas, includes textbooks. It is a project created by ISKME (Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education). From their website "ISKME is an independent, education nonprofit whose mission is to improve the practice of continuous learning, collaboration, and change in the education sector." Established in 2002 and based in Silicon Valley.
OpenStax
Open textbooks in a variety of subjects that can be accessed electronically for free. Texts also has an option to purchase a print copy. There are an increasing number of ancillary materials for each text.
Open Textbook Library
“Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.” Currently has over 700 textbooks.
Pressbooks Directory
This directory provides a searchable index of complete texts published across Pressbooks networks.

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

S.O.A.R. This link opens in a new window
Searching with S.O.A.R. will provide results across our resources of print and electronic (full-text) holdings, the Jacobs Library’s Catalog, Course Reserves and/or I-Share on one platform.
Search, Organize, Access, Resources (S.O.A.R.)

Users can search in the library's catalog, SOAR, for Open Access journals, books, and more by using the following search facet within the "Tweak your results" section of the SOAR results page:

Or, look out for the following icon in your results:

DPLA
Discover 44,369,376 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Multimedia Educational Resource for Online Teaching and Learning (MERLOT) Search
Open Course Library
Openverse
Browse over 500 million images, available for reuse
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content including images, sound and video clips.
Creative Commons Image Directory
The Noun Project
Search CC-licensed and public domain icons by keyword
Photos For Class
Search now to download properly attributed, Creative Commons photos for school
Unsplash
Free, no attribution required artwork that improves on stock photos.
Pexels
"The world's first inclusive free stock photo & library." Attribution is appreciated but not required

Click on the banner above to navigate to the library's OER by Subject page.

Open Educational Resource LibGuide by Jayna Leipart Guttilla and Illinois Valley Community College is licensed under CC BY 4.0