Jacobs Library: Wellness Guide: IVCC Wellness Resources

Featured IVCC Wellness Resources

Illinois Valley Community College's Wellness Resource Guide
Use this resource guide for a listing of all local wellness resources, including but not limited to, counseling services, food pantries, health services, and support groups.
IVCC Student Events Calendar
Check out all the IVCC Student events happening that you can participate in!
IVCC Wall of Support
Visit our Wall of Support. The world needs you! You matter. Take care of yourself!
YOU@IVCC
YOU@IVCC is a free site for IVCC students, faculty and staff with helpful resources for those who might have questions about academics, personal well-being, finding purpose and connection, and more. It is 100 percent anonymous and confidential.

Illinois Valley Community College Resources

Transformative Growth Counseling is a 501c3 non-profit organization serving people across Illinois, including students here at IVCC.

Located within IVCC's Counseling Center, CTC-202.

Transformative Growth offers

Counseling services
Diagnostic testing
In person and online therapy

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Safe Journeys provides support for domestic and sexual violence victims residing in Livingston and LaSalle Counties. Our helpline is available 24/7, is free, and confidential. At Safe Journeys we believe survivors.

Call us at 815-673-1555.

On-campus representative is located in CTC 220.

Freedom House provides compassionate, confidential, free services to domestic and sexual violence victims residing in Bureau, Henry, Marshal, Putnam, and Stark Counties. Freedom House's hotline is available 24/7.

Call us at 800-474-6031.

Crisis Resources

The TREVOR Project
Text 678-678 or chat online at thetrevorproject.org.
Crisis Text Line
Text HOME to 741-741.
National Suicide and Crisis Lifeline
Call 988.
SAMHSA National Helpline
Call (800)662-4737.

More Topics, More Resources

Looking for additional topics? The IVCC library has a plethora of other wellness related resources. Try searching SOAR for additional content.

SOAR is our library's version of Google. It searches all the Jacobs Library's research databases for scholarly articles, books, streaming videos, and more covering all disciplines. Search any topic by keyword and not by asking a question.

Search, Organize, Access, Resources at Jacobs Library

S.O.A.R.
Searching with S.O.A.R. will provide results across our resources of print and electronic (full-text) holdings, the Jacobs Library’s Catalog, Course Reserves and/or I-Share on one platform.
Search, Organize, Access, Resources (S.O.A.R.)

S.O.A.R.
Searching with S.O.A.R. will provide results across our resources of print and electronic (full-text) holdings, the Jacobs Library’s Catalog, Course Reserves and/or I-Share on one platform.
Search, Organize, Access, Resources (S.O.A.R.)
ABC-CLIO eBook Collection
Fuel your research or satisfy personal inquiry with the high-quality, authoritative, and scholarly information found in these ebooks. Topics include careers, contemporary world issues, Latino studies, literature & folklore, medicine, mental health & wellness, the military, society & culture, technology, U.S. and international politics, women's issues, and world religions. This collection is also searchable through the Jacobs Library online catalog.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search this popular resource for literary analysis. Discover additional eBooks on health, medicine, business, travel, social sciences, literature, and more.
Infobase eBooks
Find scholarly eBooks on topics including literature, philosophy, psychological disorders, Native American history, health, medical, energy, and forensic science. Includes titles from two popular literary criticism collections: Bloom's Modern Critical Views and Bloom's Modern Critical Interpretation.
Sage eReference
Access 62 titles from high quality reference resources published by SAGE and available in eBook format focusing on the social sciences.
Salem Online
Find facts quickly with this digital reference book collection. Categories include Careers, Countries, Peoples & Cultures, Health, History, Literature, and Science. Print versions of these titles are also available at Jacobs Library.
Springer Medicine eBooks
Retrieve academic medical eBooks for research. The link takes you to the Springer site for all of their products. To narrow your search for titles available to IVCC patrons select Medicine --> Books --> English. We have access to titles published between 2005 and 2010.

Consumer Health Complete
Browse an A-Z listing of health problems and procedures or use the search function to investigate your health question.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Examine consumer health magazines, reference books, and current health pamphlets to find information on fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health, and more.

Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volume 1)
Watch prominent therapists demonstrate their methods and get a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. Spans 1985 to 2010.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a pay-per-use streaming video service for libraries and educational institutions that provides faculty and students access to a large collection of films. For more information and detailed instructions, navigate to the library's Kanopy guide at https://libguides.ivcc.edu/kanopystreaming

Men's Health
Articles for men on fitness, exercise, nutrition, grooming tips, fashion, new products and men's health questions.
Women's Health
A women's lifestyle magazine rooted in healthy living.