Jacobs Library: Collections: IVCC Authors

About the IVCC Authors Collection

In 2013, Jacobs Library created the IVCC Authors Collection to bring together books authored by current and former members of the college community. The collection contains books authored by current and former Illinois Valley Community College faculty, staff, and students.

This guide organizes books by employment status, author, and publication date.

If you know of a book that should be included in the collection, or simply have a question, please call Jacobs Library at (815)224-0306, or email us at jacobs_library@ivcc.edu.

IVCC Authors - Faculty

A User's Guide to the USA PATRIOT Act and Beyond by P. Robert Abele

Call Number: IVA KF9430 .A23 2005

ISBN: 0761830596

Publication Date: 2004

A User's Guide to the USA PATRIOT Act and Beyond examines the controversial USA PATRIOT Act, passed by Congress six weeks after the horrific events of September 11, 2001. This new set of American laws gives the federal government broad powers to conduct surveillance on American citizens, in some cases without warrant and without judicial oversight. The book summarizes other programs put into operation to severely curtail the civil liberties of Americans, including a second, more intrusive PATRIOT Act, and other proposed programs and laws that attack privacy, probable cause, due process, and free speech. The book begins with an overview of the political philosophy of John Locke, with a specific emphasis on Locke's theory of human rights and its influence on the U.S. Bill of Rights. These political and legal bases are used as touchstones for explaining and evaluating the PATRIOT Act and other related measures being advocated by many federal leaders today. It lists and responds to arguments supporting the PATRIOT Act, and concludes with an essay defending the position that the PATRIOT Act and its successor programs all severely curtail civil liberties.

From 2011 to 2013, Dr. Jeff Anderson taught history and served as dean of Humanities, Fine Arts, and Social Sciences at IVCC. Dr. Anderson, a trained historian, received a doctorate in history from Syracuse University Also a critic of contemporary education practices, Dr. Anderson contributed content for Minding the Campus, a high-profile blog that takes a critical look at higher learning in the U.S.

The Skinny on Teaching by J. M. Anderson

Call Number: IVA LB2331 .A53 2011

ISBN: 9781617356032

Publication Date: 2012

This book is a straightforward and entertaining primer on college teaching. It discusses the nitty-gritty aspects of teaching while providing readers with a synoptic but concise explanation of the principles of the art. It also offers a viable alternative to the books on teaching currently available or in print. That alternative is the classic texts on education and pedagogy. These books are essential, the author argues, because they show teachers how to apply the principles of teaching while fostering the aims of liberal education at the same time. These books also help them pose the fundamental questions about education that all teachers should be asking. Aimed primarily at graduate students and new college professors, this book is a useful and practical guide for those who are passionate about teaching but feel unprepared to teach, unsure of what to expect in the classroom, and stifled in the current academic climate. It will likewise appeal to high school teachers and veteran college professors who are disenchanted and seek some way to break free from their malaise. It is intentionally short, little, "skinny," so that it can be read through quickly and so that readers can peruse the chapters and mull over the topics at their leisure. Above all else, this book will introduce a new generation of readers to some of the great masters who can reveal the timeless truths-and yes, even the magic-behind the art

Joining the IVCC faculty in 2006, Dr. Jason Beyer teaches philosophy and religion. Beyer's published work, which appeared in a number of periodicals and academic journals, deals with a variety of social issues such as the legitimacy of gay marriage and the social effects of media representations of women. The primary focus of Beyer's research is the intersecting point between ethics and religious doctrine.

A Comparison of Judeo-Christian Theism and Philosophical Naturalism As Explanatory Worldviews by Jason A. Beyer
Call Number: IVA B828.2 .B43 2007

ISBN: 9780773453227

Publication Date: 2007

This book seeks to make the case that philosophical naturalism serves as a better explanation of the range of human experience than Judeo-Christian theism. 'Naturalism' is defined as the view that all substantial or concrete entities are physical in nature; further, the physical world does not exist for a purpose or reason. Avoiding the usual naturalist approach of criticizing theistic arguments, this study first defines the nature of explanation and what makes one explanation better than another before producing an argument that naturalism serves as a better explanation of all things.

Ronald Bluemer is an Illinois historian who taught American History part-time at Illinois Valley Community College. One of the most prolific authors to work at the college, Mr. Bluemer authored twelve books on the history of Illinois Valley, all of which appear on the IVCC Authors shelf. Bluemer also writes for the LaSalle NewsTribune and speaks publicly on the history of the region.

Connecting Links by R. G. (Ronald Glenn) Bluemer
Call Number: IVA F547.I13 B58 2013

ISBN: 9780615857589

Publication Date: 2013

Describes the construction and of the use Illinois & Michigan Canal, Hennepin Canal, and the Illinois Waterway Project.
Rally Round the Flag by R. G. Bluemer
Call Number: IVA F547.I2 B48 2011

ISBN: 9780615508252

Publication Date: 2011
Back to The 50's by Bluemer, R. G.
Call Number: IVA F547.I2 B55 2010

ISBN: 9780615358277

Publication Date: 2010

This work is an in depth review of the 1950's headline stories affecting the Illinois River Valley including such topics as the Korean War, DEW line training facilities, Civil Defense preparedness, illicit gambling, nuclear testing, flying saucers, entertainment, the Army's AASHO interstate highway test project, murder mysteries, city celebrations, floods, and blizzards.
Buddy, Can You Spare a Dime? by Bluemer, R. G.
Call Number: IVA F 547.I2 B588 2008

ISBN: 096736809X

Publication Date: 2008
Fire Below by Bluemer, R. G.
Call Number: IVA TN315 .B58 2007

ISBN: 9780967368085

Publication Date: 2007

This is a non-fiction account of the Cherry, IL coal mine fire, which claimed the lives of 259 men and boys in Nov. 1909. Research is mainly based on original newspaper interviews in 1909-1910, a 700-page inquest report, and personal acocunts by survivors. The book is illustrated with over 175 photos and 2 mine diagrams. Present day, on-site photographs, a bibliography and list of all fatalities with ages, ethnictiy, and specific occupation are included.
Rails Across the Heartland by R. G. Bluemer
Call Number: IVA HE1021 .B77 2006

ISBN: 0967368073

Publication Date: 2006
Here Comes the Boat! by R. G. Bluemer
Call Number: IVA F547.I2 B587 2005

ISBN: 0967368057

Publication Date: 2005-01-01

A history of the Illinois-Michigan Canal, Hennepin Cana and steamboats 1840-2005 on the Illinois River. Illustrated with hstoric and modern photos of the locks and steamboats. Index of boat names
Casino by Ronald Bluemer
Call Number: IVA F547.I2 B58 2004

ISBN: 9780967368047

Publication Date: 2004

Casino focuses on the gambling and entertainment establishments in LaSalle and Bureau Counties (Illinois) during the 1940's and 1950's. Included are investigations by the Kefauver Crime Commission and the LaSalle News-Tribune to expose and wipe out gambling in the region. Empahsis on LaSalle, Peru and Spring Valley, IL.
Home Front by Ronald Bluemer
Call Number: IVA F547.I2 B583 2005

ISBN: 0967368065

Publication Date: 2005

Home Front describes the civilian response to WWII in Illinois (Putnam, Bureau, Lee, LaSalle Counties) Topics include bond sales, scrap drives, blackouts, rationing, Seneca LST's, Amboy - Green River Ordnance Plant, factory war production in Streator, LaSalle, Mendota, Oglesby. Also includes soldiers' stories from local newspapers
Speakeasy by R. G. Bluemer
Call Number: IVA HV5090.I35 B55 2003

ISBN: 0967368030

Publication Date: 2003

History of Illinois breweries from Morris to PeruNarratives of illegal liquor production during 1920'sProhibiton raids on speakeasies and moonshine operations in the Illinois River Valley -1920-1933Links with organized crime and Al CaponeDescription of remaining structures of brewing industry
Rails Across the Heartland by Ronald Bluemer
Call Number: IVA HE2771.I3 B53 2002

ISBN: 0967368022

Publication Date: 2002

This work is a historical survey of the major railroads in north central Illinois (1850's-2002). Includes chapters on turnk lines, branch lines, impact on industry, Interurban lines, passenger service, wrecks and accidents. Features an additional chapter on railroad exhibits and museums in Illinois. Over 300 photos of old depots, steam and diesel engines, streetcars, and train wrecks. Includes over two dozen towns and cities from Ottawa to Princeton and Mendota to Streator, Illinois.
Black Diamond Mines by R. G. Bluemer
Call Number: IVA TN805.A6 I3 2001

ISBN: 0967368014

Publication Date: 2001
Fate of the Phoenix by R. G. Bluemer
Call Number: IVA D774.P53 .B58 1999

ISBN: 0967368006

Publication Date: 1999

Kevin Hermes, a policeman for nearly 30 years, serves as the leader of Illinois Valley Community College’s criminal justice program. Hermes served 17 years as a policeman in Bensenville, IL, a village located near O’Hare International Airport. Hermes also worked for the Northern Illinois University Police Department and taught online classes for Southern New Hampshire University.

Politics and American Policing by Kevin Hermes
Call Number: IVA HV7405 .H4 2012

ISBN: 9781470047467

Publication Date: 2010

Those who controlled politics and the economy, from a historical perspective, sought nothing more than to protect and serve their own elitist interests through political influence and power, so as to keep the threat of social disorder in control amongst the lower classes. Such a coercive foundation has formulated the strategies and deployment of policing within the United States as we know it today.

Samuel Rogal is a former English professor and chair of the Division of Humanities and Fine Arts at Illinois Valley Community College. He had taught extensively beginning in 1960 at Waynesburg College in Waynesburg, Pennsylvania.

In addition to his many years of teaching, Rogal had published numerous articles over the course of his career, as well as many books on subjects in English literature.

Sabine Baring-Gould (1834-1924) Beyond the Christian Soldier by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA PR4062 2016

ISBN: 9781495504709

Publication Date: 2016
The Wesleyan Connection in Shelburne and Birchtown, Nova Scotia by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA BX8253.S54 R64 2001

ISBN: 0773476792

Publication Date: 2001

This text focuses on the development of Methodism in Nova Scotia, with attention paid to the towns of Shelburne and Birchtown. It looks at the issue over control of a religious organization, which in the late 18th century, John Wesley appeared to have lost. Wesley embraced the efforts at Birchtown because he supported the idea of freedom for black people and opposed slavery. Some historians maintain that by ordaining lay elders to cross the Atlantic John Wesley did manage to establish the means by which the Methodist Episcopal Church could organize itself into a significant religious body in the US and Canada.
A Companion to the Characters in the Fiction and Drama of W. Somerset Maugham by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA PR6025.A86 Z855 1996

ISBN: 031329917X

Publication Date: 1996

The characters in the fiction and drama of W. Somerset Maugham accurately reflect English society from the end of the Victorian age through the early years of World War II. Maugham based his characters on real people whom he observed and analyzed, and his characters transcend the themes and settings of his fictional worlds. This volume lists and descibes each and every character mentioned in Maugham's fiction and drama, including living, dead, human, animal, imaginary, historical, named, and unnamed inhabitants of his works. Through his voluminous writings, W. Somerset Maugham recreated the age in which he lived. The characters in his fiction and drama accurately reflect English society from the end of the Victorian era through the early years of World War II. There exists little doubt that the strength of Maugham's works stems from his rich characterizations. When he peopled his imaginary worlds, he based his characters on real persons whom he observed and analyzed, both from a respectable distance and a not always respectable intimacy; then he recast them upon the page and the stage. This reference sets down in alphabetical order each character included in Maugham's stories, novels, and plays. Included are imaginary, historical, human, animal, named, unnamed, living, and dead characters from all of his works. Each entry indicates the work in which the character appears and provides a description of the character in relation to the work as a whole. As far as possible, the descriptions capture the substance and tone of Maugham's own words. An introductory essay discusses the importance of Maugham's characters to his literary art, while a bibliography lists editions consulted and secondary sources of additional information.
Sing Glory and Hallelujah! by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA M2198.B66 G55 Suppl

ISBN: 0313296901

Publication Date: 1996

The only sourcebook that provides information necessary to make Gospel Hymns Nos. 1 to 6 Complete a useful research tool and an aid to the study of popular culture in the United States during the last half of the 19th century. For the first time, students and scholars will have access, in a single source, to biographical, historical, and bibliographical data concerning the writers of the hymn texts, the composers of the hymn tunes, and the various routes by which the hymns found their way onto the pages of that large collection of gospel and traditional hymnody. ^Gospel Hymns Nos. 1 to 6 Complete contains 739 songs gathered from a series of six earlier published works. The data in this volume will add to the breadth and depth of Gospel Hymns Nos. 1 to 6 Complete and thus, for the first time, identify the significance of its contributions to the history of American culture. A strong introduction establishes the historical significance of the collection of gospel hymns and songs. The entries for both the authors of the words and the composers of the music are arranged alphabetically, followed by the dates of birth and death (if known), a biographical sketch, and references to the number of the hymn, its title, first line, and accompanying tune. Dates of composition and initial publication are included where possible.
The Educational and Evangelical Missions of Mary Emilie Holmes (1850-1906) by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA LA2317.H634 R64 1994

ISBN: 0773490957

Publication Date: 1994

In this text Mary Emilie Holmes' contributions to American education are examined, beginning with her own accomplishments, particularly with her identification as the first woman to have earned the doctorate in the earth sciences. The study then follows her scholarly efforts in geology and the pedagogy of earth sciences, her attempts to educate freed blacks in Tennessee and Arkansas, the founding of a two-year seminary (now a co-educational junior college) for black women in Mississippi, and her educational and social work on behalf of the Presbyterian Church. Reconstructed from Holmes' own publications, church record books, minutes of meetings of church organizations, newspaper accounts, and secondary sources, the story of Holmes' life also provides insight into a specific type of late 19th-century American woman - able scholar, teacher, and administrator.
John Wesley in Wales, 1739-1790 by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA BX8495.W5 R5945 1995

ISBN: 0773493972

Publication Date: 1994

This volume highlights the value of Wesley's experiences in Wales, beginning October 15, 1739 and continuing intermittently though August 21, 1790, using Wesley's thoughts and observations through his letters, journals, and diaries.
John Wesley in Ireland, 1747-1789 by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA BX8495.W5 R594 1993

ISBN: 0773492437

Publication Date: 1993

This study examines John Wesley's 43-year mission to Ireland and the significant effect it had on the history of religion among the Irish. He converted some 14,000 Irish to Methodism. Many of those emigrated to North America, extending Wesley's influence throughout colonial America.
A General Introduction to Hymnody and Congregational Song by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA BV312 .R64 1991

ISBN: 0810824167

Publication Date: 1991

Emphasizes the English hymn as a literary entity within denominational and historical contexts. The author sets forth a number of definitions for hymnody and congregational song, and then examines the development of the various forms in England and the United States. With a listing of works for further reading, an index to all hymns discussed, and chronology. ...valuable both for the historical information it provides and for its appreciative evaluation of the religious treasures enshrined in English-language hymns. --ADRIS NEWSLETTER
John Wesley's Mission to Scotland by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA BX8495.W5 R595 1989

ISBN: 0889460701

Publication Date: 1989

This study describes John Wesley's experiences and activities during his forays into Scotland. It analyzes Wesley's efforts to convert the Scots, and casts light on those opposing such conversion.
John Wesley's London by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA DA682 .R64 1988

ISBN: 0889468230

Publication Date: 1989

A detailed study of John Wesley's activities within the confines of the English capital, drawing heavily on Wesley's own words and thoughts as extracted from diaries, journals, and letters. The volume recreates, by means of a cross-section and cross-class view, the mosaic of London in the 18th century.
A Chronological Outline of American Literature by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA PS92 .R67 1987

ISBN: 0313254710

Publication Date: 1987

This is the first book to examine the literary history of the United States in terms of the chronological occurrence of significant events and activities. This comprehensive volume lists the dates of birth and death of literary figures, important historical facts, and the authors and titles of works published for each year, from Colonial times to the present. The compiler's introduction offers an interesting and informative discussion of how, from little more than a list of author's titles, and events, we may observe a year in the history of a nation, through the political, scientific, and social developments that fired the imaginations of America's writers, and fed the appetites of a growing reading public.
Guide to the Hymns and Tunes of American Methodism by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA ML102.H95 R6 1986

ISBN: 0313251231

Publication Date: 1986

Rogal surveys the specifics of American Methodist hymnody from 1878 through 1966. He provides a table of hymnals with full bibliographic data and traces the background and development of the six official Methodist hymnals. This book also serves as a reference guide to the 3,901 hymns and tunes included in the most recent editions of the six major Methodist hymnals.
The Children's Jubilee by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA Z7800 .R63 1983

ISBN: 0313238804

Publication Date: 1983

Product information not available.
John and Charles Wesley by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA PR3763.W5 Z85 1983

ISBN: 0805768548

Publication Date: 1983
Sisters of Sacred Song by Samuel J. Rogal
Call Number: IVA BV325 .R63 1981

ISBN: 0824094824

Publication Date: 1981

Geoff Schmidt was a part time instructor at IVCC who taught creative writing and composition. His writing has been published in a wide variety of literary periodicals, including Oxford Magazine and Notre Dame Review.

Write Your Heart Out by Geoff Schmidt
Call Number: IVA PS3569.C51549 W75 2000

ISBN: 1588480100

Publication Date: 2000

Massacre 1769 by Mark Walczynski

Call Number: IVA E99.I2 W35 2013

ISBN: 9780615834672

Publication Date: 2013

According to the Legend of Starved Rock, the last of the Illinois Indian tribe fled to the summit of the bluff where they were surrounded by the Potawatomi and Ottawa Indians. Unable to obtain food or water, Illinois men, women and children, were destroyed by starvation. Was this account a horrific historical event, or nothing more than fanciful fiction, based on fragments of many events, popularized by the creative pens of imaginative nineteenth-century writers? Massacre 1769: The Search for the Origin of the Legend of Starved Rock reviews the earliest and most influential accounts of the well-known legend, traces the history and culture of the Illinois Indian tribe from its earliest contact with Europeans, and closely examines the event of 1769, the murder of Ottawa war chief, Pontiac, at the hand of an Illinois warrior, the incident that, according to the legend, precipitated the destruction of the Illinois tribe at Starved Rock. With careful examination of archaeological excavations and surveys, at or around Starved Rock, and extensive study of the well-documented historical record, Massacre 1769, at last, brings clarity to this event, proving again, that history is even more enthralling than fiction. For both scholar and history enthusiast alike.
Starved Rock State Park by Mark Walczynski
Call Number: IVA F547.L3

ISBN: 9781432776107

Publication Date: 2011

Starved Rock State Park, located in north central Illinois, celebrates its 100th birthday as a state site in 2011. Now one of Illinois most popular public parks, Starved Rock is a wonderful place to see Illinois at its very best. Starved Rock State Park the First 100 Years, takes a look at the site from the early days, when visitors wore straw hats and suspenders and arrived via ferry boat, until today. This book also takes a behind the scenes look at the famous site through the eyes of visitors, state officials, park employees, and local residents.

Streets of Warsaw by Steven Lee Wiggins

Call Number: IVA PS3623.I38 S77 2004

ISBN: 9780974543505

Publication Date: 2004

The Western legacy by Erwin, John Stuart; Hostetter, James; Rostello, Albert
Call Number: IVA D1 .E79 1993

ISBN: 070197032

Publication Date: 1993
Reading, Writing, and Thinking by Mueller, Robert; Rogal, Samuel; Schmitt, Nancy; Tuntland, Barbara
Call Number: IVA PE1408 .R43 1988

ISBN: 084034970X

Publication Date: 1988

IVCC Authors - Staff

Hans Andrews is a former IVCC Dean of Instruction. Books authored by Andrews are listed by date of publication below.

Awards and Recognition for Exceptional Teachers by Hans A. Andrews
Call Number: IVA LB2838.3 .A53 2006

ISBN: 9780978715809

Publication Date: 2006
Accountable Teachers Evaluation! by Hans A. Andrews
Call Number: IVA LB2838 .A52 2004

ISBN: 158107087X

Publication Date: 2004

Accountable Teacher Evaluation! is both scholarly and practical. Drawing on his extensive experience, Dr. Hans Andrews sets forth the rationale and the means for faculty evaluation of teachers and professors. The forms, checklists, and flowcharts should prove highly useful to school and university administrators responsible for documenting grounds for dismissal, identifying areas of needed improvement, and recognizing and rewarding faculty excellence.
The Dual-Credit Phenomenon! by Hans A. Andrews
Call Number: IVA LB2359.5 .A53 2001

ISBN: 1581070446

Publication Date: 2001

Comprehensive study of programs that allow high school students to earn college credit.
Teachers Can Be Fired! by Hans A. Andrews
Call Number: IVA LB2828 .A53 1995

ISBN: 0812692802

Publication Date: 1999

What if excellent teaching were guaranteed in every classroom? Teachers Can Be Fired! is an essential guide for anyone who is serious about making that possibility a reality. Dr. Andrews explains how the Total Quality Management movement, so successful in business and industry, can be applied to the most important element in the schools--teachers. He argues persuasively for heavy reliance on supervisory/administrative evaluation practices as the most legally defensible and helpful system.
Merit in Education by Hans A. Andrews
Call Number: IVA LB2838.3 .A52 1987

ISBN: 0913507059

Publication Date: 1987
Evaluating for Excellence by Hans A. Andrews
Call Number: IVA LB2333 .A52 1985

ISBN: 0913507040

Publication Date: 1985

Carey Burns currently works at IVCC as an Administrative Assistant in the Foundation Center and previously served as our Campus Information Specialist. Since 2010 Burns has also taught jewelry-making classes for Continuing Education and Business Services. An avid crafter, who sells her own jewelry at local craft fairs, and Burns is also an amateur geologist or "rock hound.”

Jill Hejl, who created the cover for Burns' book Haiku Horror Stories, is a cashier at IVCC. Hejl also works as an artist, exploring the influences of outsider art and children's art in drawing and painting. A number of galleries across the Midwest have shown Hejl’s work.

Hair Baby and Other Weird Tales by Carey Burns
Call Number: IVA PS3552 .U88 2013

ISBN: 9781492279235

Publication Date: 2014

In this collection of twenty short stories and flash fiction tales, you will: witness a boy that turns into centipedes, delight in three vultures plotting delicious revenge, cringe as a boy teaches his crush how to flip her eyelids inside-out, and much more.There's weirdness all around us, you just have to take a moment to find it.
Haiku Horror Stories by Carey Burns; Jill Hejl (Illustrator)
Call Number: IVA PS3552 .U87 2012

ISBN: 9780615715971

Publication Date: 2012

These are not traditional haikus! Haiku is a Japanese form of poetry. A haiku has three lines with five syllables in the first, seven syllables in the second, and five syllables in the third. Traditional haikus have a specific subject matter, but my haikus are not traditional. Here is an example of one of my haikus: Once the howling stops Is when you should really run They can taste your fearI have enjoyed writing haikus since grade school (which is many, many years ago) and recently began to twist them into micro flash fiction stories with rather dark subject matter.This is a collection of my favorite haiku horror stories with a handful of individual haikus mixed in for good measure. I hope you enjoy reading them.

Introverts Anonymous : Talking to God by Dean, Rebekah

Call Number: IVA PS3554 .E17 2006

ISBN: 9781411666368

Publication Date: 2006

Jane Sack began working at IVCC in 1996 as a coordinator for an “Education to Careers” grant. Sack also worked as a counselor in Student Services since the fall of 1997.

An historical case study on the Illinois Articulation Initiative by Sack, Jane.
Call Number: IVA LB2361.6 .I3 S22 2006

Publication Date: 2006

Dissertation in fulfillment of the required achievements for a doctorate in education from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The purpose of this case study was to gain understanding, from an historical perspective, of the Illinois Articulation Initiative (IAI), a statewide policy on the transfer and articulation of college courses. Specifically, this research was designed to describe the IAI policy, explain the social, political, and economical influences involved in transfer operations, and discover how the IAI initiative reflects the community college role in higher education. Based on the premise that all those involved in developing the policy were mainly concerned with student success, the qualitative inquiry methods employed were interviews, as well as the review of Board minutes, reports, personal documents and accompanying literature to reach the conclusion that IAI is built with sound structure, but lacks the final phase of an evaluation to rightly determine its value in student success.

Illinois Valley Community College : the first seventy years by Cummings, Elizabeth, & Danley, William.

Call Number: IVA LD6501.I22 C91 1995

Publication Date: 1995

Detailed history of Illinois Valley Community College from 1924-1994.

IVCC Authors - Student/Alumni

M.B. is the shadowy editor of Annonymous Sounds, a handmade book of poetry, which mysteriously appeared one day on our Paperback Exchange shelf. When the Paperback Exchange shelf became the IVCC Authors shelf, we assumed M.B. was an IVCC student and decided to make Annonymous Sounds, a work published in the handicraft zine tradition, a part of the IVCC Authors collection.

Annonymous sounds by Anonymous
Call Number: IVA PS306.5 .A56 2012

Publication Date: 2012

William D. Irwin is an author and poet from the Illinois Valley, who graduated from IVCC in 1979. Since 1993, Irwin has published ten books of poetry and fiction.

Poetry of love, honor, and respect by Irwin, William D.
Call Number: IVA PS310.L65 I78

Publication Date: [2013]

Jason Kotecki is an author, cartoonist, and motivational speaker who graduated from IVCC in 1996. In collaboration with Kim Kotecki, Kotecki champions bringing childish fun into adult life. Visit EscapeAdulthood for more information from Jason and Kim on "breaking free from the vile clutches of Adultitis."

There's an Adult in My Soup by Jason W. Kotecki (Illustrator); Kim Kotecki
Call Number: IVA RA785 .K6 2009

ISBN: 9780971525368

Publication Date: 2009
Escape Adulthood by Jason Kotecki
Call Number: IVA RA785 .K68 2005

ISBN: 9780971525337

Publication Date: 2005

Being Grown-Up Isn't All It Was Cracked Up To Be. Do you ever have the urge to resign from being an adult? Are you burned out by the stresses that come with being grown-up and wish you could be six again ? far, far away from the mountains of paperwork and mortgage payments, credit card debt and computer crashes? Unfortunately, no matter how hard you try, you're never going to be six again. But relief is within your grasp, because the secrets of childhood are timeless, and they're available to you right now, no matter how ?grown-up? you may be.In this humorous and inspiring book, cartoonist Jason Kotecki invites you to escape adulthood. He uncovers some of the values that come so easily to children, the ones many of us outgrew as we grew up. Filled with funny anecdotes, real-world examples, and practical advice, this book will help you to:? Break free from the stresses of the fast-paced rat race to find true, abundant happiness.' Accomplish things in your life that you once though impossible.' Discover new opportunities to create financial success for yourself and others.' Become more energized and productive at home and at work.' Improve your health and decrease your chances of heart disease and cancer.' Become more respected and admired by your friends, colleagues, the people you lead ? even your enemies!? Gain peace of mind about the things that worry you most.' Create a family dynamic that is more fun, loving, and supportive.Author Jason Kotecki is the creator of Kim & Jason, the internationally known comic strip about childhood. He has presented to audiences of all ages on the topics of living your dreams, strengthening your faith and renewing your childhood spirit. His humorous insights will leave you encouraged, entertained, and inspired.You may not be able to be six again, but with this book you will begin to rediscover your childlike spirit, resulting in a more happy and fulfilled life while increasing your chances of changing the world.

During the 2008-2009 academic year, Kali Shevlin served as the book critic for the student newspaper, The IV Leader. Shevlin is also a graphic artist, fan fiction author, and 2012 graduate of Illinois State University's English Publication program.

Battle for the Stars by Kali Shevlin
Call Number: IVA PS3568.H436 B37 2008

ISBN: 9781606726587

Publication Date: 2008

On the peaceful world for Entara, the Entity race lives and protects the multiverse from harm. Their ancient enemies, the Killgonas, will stop at nothing to free their master, the Nameless, from its prison. If that happens all life in the multiers is doomed. When a crises threatens everyone twins Star and Nova must take a dangerous life-and-death journey to find the one person who can help them. Meanwhile the girl Kali is unaware of the danger and need to develop her hidden powers. Can the twins unlock her hidden potential before its too late or will the Killgonas and Nameless succeed into turning the multiverse into nothing?

View this 8 part video collection by the Peru Public Library to learn more about author Kali Shevlin's experience.