Jacobs Library: Dual Credit Resources for Instructors &amp; Librarians: Services & Resources for Instructors

Services & Resources for Instructors

Explore the services and resources that are available to you as an IVCC instructor. Library staff are available to assist you and your students throughout the semester.

Contact us at 815-224-0306 or jacobs_library@ivcc.edu.

Available with or without Blackboard, this tool allows users to build and curate reading lists that leverage existing library resources and incorporate OER materials, web content, and uploaded documents.

Library instruction is more than just a visit to the library. We offer a variety of live and asynchronous formats to fit the needs of your course and students.

Open educational resources (OER) are free and openly licensed educational materials, such as syllabi, workbooks, textbooks, and videos that can be used for teaching, learning, research, and other purposes.

This guide is designed to share information on copyright and fair use in an educational setting and provide guidance on finding and using materials in online, hybrid, and in-person courses. It is not intended to provide legal advice.

Collaborate with a librarian and embed library content directly in your Blackboard course.

Do you have purchase suggestions? Submit your ideas by completing this form.

Books & eBooks

Search the library's online catalog for books and ebooks with SOAR. You can also explore ebook collections individually below.

Jacobs Library Catalog - S.O.A.R.
Search for books and other materials in the IVCC library and 90+ other academic libraries.
Ebook Central
Access authoritative teaching, learning, and research content on a variety of subjects in our largest eBook collection. Key and emerging topics include accounting, computers, career development, crime & criminology, emergency medicine, human resources, industrial management, nursing & allied health, project management, U.S. history, and vocational education & guidance. Titles can also be accessed through the Jacobs Library online catalog.
Oxford Scholarship Online eBooks
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to academic works from the celebrated scholarly list of Oxford University Press, covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.
Wiley Online Library eBooks
Wiley Online Books features over 20,000 scholarly and professional books, handbooks, dictionaries, companions, and landmark book series. Discover premier titles from the most celebrated scientists, award-winning authors and renowned researchers in the life, health, and physical sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Streaming Videos

Explore the library's streaming video collections by subject below. You can also search the library's online catalog for streaming videos with SOAR.

Kanopy
Kanopy is a pay-per-use streaming video service for libraries and educational institutions that provides faculty and students access to a large collection of films. For more information and detailed instructions, navigate to the library's Kanopy guide at https://libguides.ivcc.edu/kanopystreaming
Films On Demand
Locate videos with an emphasis on health, including anatomy and physiology, health and medicine, and guidance and counseling. There are also health-related videos for education, criminal justice, history, earth science, business, psychology, philosophy, and more.
American History in Video
Experience notable historical moments as they were made and reported to viewers of the time. Includes early newsreels and award-winning documentaries.
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volume 1)
Watch prominent therapists demonstrate their methods and get a firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. Spans 1985 to 2010.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
View documentaries and interviews that provide personal field experiences as well as insight into the function and controversies of the justice system. Watch training videos that demonstrate how to respond to potentially-dangerous situations. Find topics such as criminology, violent crime, substance abuse, juvenile justice, forensics, first responders, and correction.
Dental Education in Video
Access hundreds of hours of demonstrations from American Dental Association-approved content partners, together with interviews and lectures, for students and faculty in dental surgery, medicine, oral hygiene, assisting, and nursing.
Education in Video
Find resources for teachers to increase knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms.
Theatre in Video
Explore a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
Explore a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.
World History in Video
Explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.
Jacobs Library Catalog - S.O.A.R.
Search for books and other materials in the IVCC library and 90+ other academic libraries.

General Databases

Covering a broad range of topics and disciplines, these databases are ideal for beginning your research. You can browse our entire list of databases by visiting the A-Z Databases page.

Academic Search Complete
Begin your research with this enormous collection of journals covering all academic subjects.
ProQuest Research Library
Search a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and other timely sources across the top 150 subject areas.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Seek to understand both sides of an issue with pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.

Literary Analysis

These databases provide author biographies, character and plot analysis, historical context, literary criticism, and much more.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search this popular resource for literary analysis. Discover additional eBooks on health, medicine, business, travel, social sciences, literature, and more.
Literature Criticism Online
Discover centuries of literary analysis—spanning all time periods, genres, and regions of the world.
JSTOR
Search scholarly journals, literary journals, research reports, eBooks, and primary sources.

Specialty Databases

Focusing on specific disciplines, these databases allow patrons to explore related research topics more deeply. You can browse our entire list of databases by visiting the A-Z Databases page.

Human Anatomy Atlas
Study the human body with this comprehensive 3D atlas of regions, systems, an anatomy lab, cross sections, micro-anatomy, and muscle actions of the human body.

To download the mobile app visit https://proxy.openathens.net/login?qurl=https%3A%2F%2Fovid.visiblebody.com%2Fmobile.
PsycARTICLES
Dig into all your psychology-related needs in journals published from 1894 to the present.
HeinOnline
Delve into legal history and government documents including law journals, Congressional records, world constitutions, historical treaties, case law, world trials, classic treatises, and U.S. Presidents. Contains topics such as animal rights, human rights, political science, history, gender studies, election law, civil rights, and foreign relations. Special collections cover religion, slavery, women, and gun regulations.